Posted by: rmckinno1 | December 8, 2009

The Depravity Called “Me” – part 3

So, I have established that there are two truths about me. I have established that I am wretched and blessed at the same time. I am strong and weak, carnal and spiritual. And for most of my Christian life I have struggled to walk in a right fashion before my God to the best of my ability and had to fight the absolute shame of the “Depravity Called Me”.

I have fallen so much. I have attempted to “work out my salvation with fear and trembling” (Philippians 2:12). I have labored to “lay aside” all the crud that is in my heart (James 1:21) and the “sin that so easily ensnares me” (Hebrews 12:1). And like Paul, I have wanted to do the right thing but done the exact opposite – the very thing I didn’t want to do.

But God’s grace has made provision for me. I have finally resigned myself to the fact that it is God, Himself, who does the work. He provides the faith. He is truly in control!

Now for those of you who may read this who would argue the “God is in control” point, let me say that I realize we have a part to play in this. I used to say that “God is in control to the extent that we allow Him to be”. But even that is changing. I have learned from personal experience lately that if you give God an inch HE will make a mile out of it!

You see, God is the “author and the finisher of our faith” (Hebrews 12:2). He is the one who BEGAN a good work in me, and HE is the one who is able to COMPLETE/FINISH it (Philippians 1:6). He is the one who is able to KEEP me (John 17:11, 15 & Jude 1:24) from stumbling, from the evil one and all of this “through HIS name”! NOT mine. NOT my works. NOT my failures.

So when I’ve failed; when I’ve messed up royally and shame rolls upon me like waves on the shore, I have an anchor for my soul. It relies on the promise that God is not through with me. It tells me that (even though I’ve messed up) His grace is sufficient. His mercy is new for me each day. I wasn’t able to make myself righteous by all my hard labor. Jesus’ death on the cross was the only thing that made me righteous. HE IS THE PROVISION!

 

This hope that God is at work, loves me and will keep me is an anchor that goes beyond the veil of my limited understanding and is held by God to keep my soul at peace (Hebrews 6:19).

 

What a fantastic, freeing, amazing, wonderful, liberating, weight-lifting, merciful, gracious and holy way to live life. Not simply “existing” – simply trying to make it through another day until we can make it to the other side one day. But living each moment of each day in the hands of the Master.

 

 

Be free.

Selah . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

